Gender Bias in Development Commentary

March 8, 2012 § 2 Comments

Today I read a very interesting post by Tom Murphy of A View from the Cave. It was about gender bias in his ABBAs awards and in the development commentary community generally. I highly recommend reviewing it and (if you are a woman) speaking louder from now on.

One snippet from Murphy’s post that I found particularly thought-provoking was a comment by Jennifer Lenter, stating that, “In the U.S., 80-90% of OpEd pages are written by men, 84% of guests on Sunday morning political talk shows are men, and 85% of Hollywood producers and directors are men. In short, despite advances in the women’s movement, public conversations exclude many people.”

After reading this quote, I had to ask myself, “Are these public conversations always excluding women, or are we [women]  just not stepping into an open ring?” In other words, is the lack of women in commentary due to external prohibitions, or internal inhibitions? It is surely due to both, but with women now exceeding men in years formal education, it seems intuitive that the balance of academic and political commentary should soon even out. If it doesn’t, we’ll have to ask ourselves why not–honestly.

Now, this is not to diminish the still very present and very active sexism that exists (consciously and subconsciously) in the world today. I know that sexism’s influence is yet felt far, wide and deeply. However, my point is simply to ask if we [as women] are making any excuses to pacify our existence as second class and/or silent bodies in the pews. We shouldn’t be afraid to head to the pulpit and speak loudly–and we definitely shouldn’t be afraid to make a blog comment.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Gender Bias in Development Commentary

  • How Matters says:

    Glad my comment inspired some reflection. I shared my additional thoughts over on Tom’s page. Excited to follow your blog!

  • Thanks for the thoughtful post. I am glad you took the time to follow up. With your permission, I would love to cross post this. If it is OK, can you shoot me an email murph(at)aviewfromthecave.com with a short intro I can include in the post about you.

    Thanks,

    Tom

I welcome your comments.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gender Bias in Development Commentary at .

meta

